//
you're reading...
Literature

Just a few days ago…

She was an adorable woman. She was like a grandmother to me. She was the first writer I’ve met in my entire life as a student and with that, I was entirely inspired to write my thoughts in a sheet of paper.

Last Thursday, August 19, 2010, we went to Makati to meet a creative non-fiction writer who won a lot of Don Carlos Palanca Awards for Literature.

She was a friend and former boss in an advertising agency of our professor, Mrs. Tere Espiritu, in Creative Non-Fiction. She wrote so many books of inspiration and encouragement like Gifts of Grace books 1-3 of which the third book was the latest.

She was Mrs. Grace D. Chong.

She is a published author of books for children and adults of over 30 books to date. Her famous series of books for children are the “Oh Mateo” series of which the latest is book 14 (if I’m not mistaken).

Currently, she finished the book “Flying on Broken Wings”. She said it took her a year and a half to finish the book. It was an inspiring book since the book was not only a “biography” of 14 people but also the emotions, heart and soul, can be felt while reading. Thus, it encourages everybody to live and enjoy the blessings they received from God.

On the other hand, the book that I found very inspirational was the “Gifts of Grace”.

It talks about her personal experiences.

In the first chapter of book 1, she talked about her experiences in the U.S. together with her auntie while studying in college and for her Master’s Degree I haven’t read all of the chapters of the book so I still can’t describe it with details but when I browse the book, it has biblical verses and reflections that I think will be helpful in writings pertaining to religion.

Anyway, I learned from her about the writer’s heart and soul. She said “you must have the heart and the soul of a writer”. And of course, “as writers, you must not only have the five senses but also the third eye or the sixth sense”. She doesn’t meant that sixth sense was about witchcraft and sorcery (as many would claim that sixth sense came from devils. Hello, not always!), but she pertains to the metaphoric ideas of writers like for example, you see tears coming out of the eyes of a person. Using your so-called “Sixth Sense” or “Third eye”, you should have seen the tears as “waterfalls falling melodiously and fast”.

Talking about this third eye of writers, as creative non-fiction writers, to get the attention of writers you must have this element in your writings. It will produce a beautiful and wonderful story that no one has ever seen in their life.

Oops! I mentioned the word “seen”. What do I mean about it?

As creative non-fiction writer, your readers must not only read your stories, they must also imagine the situations as if they were the ones experiencing it.

A creative idea, right? Thanks to Mrs. Chong.

Hehehehe….:D

About Administrator

Denn Reed Tuvera is the name of the greatest lawyer in the Philippines, my Dad. Since I also own his name, I would liken myself to him. His a man of his goals and I'm different from him. He maybe a good and brilliant lawyer but I am an aspiring journalist. About me? What can I say about me? My friends told me that I am a very religious person. Yeah right! It is true. Since the time I became a Christian, I felt how it is to be a child of God. I felt my importance in this life. I felt that even though some people would disregard me in this world, God is always there beside me. I would say that I'm a friendly person. I hate quarreling with one another person. It doesn't help me and my studies. It destroys friendship. Some say that I am a "snob" or "hindi namamansin". Hehehhehe... I am not like that. I would assure you that once you get to know me more, we will have a good relationship as friends and colleagues until this world ends.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Reply...

Pages

Records

What’s the date today?

August 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Authors

Twitter

