//
you're reading...
News

4 gold traders charged for tax evasion

Denn Reed B. Tuvera Jr/April 28

The Bureau of Internal Revenue (BIR) filed yesterday tax evasion cases before the Department of Justice (DOJ) against four gold traders for failure to file their income tax returns (ITR).

The four gold traders, who sold gold to the Banko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP), were Felonila Caluag, Diomedita Canonigo, Sylvia Cantoria and Ronald Castro. The BIR said they violated sections 254 and 255 of the Tax Code.

“They did not report any income at all during the specified periods. They did not file their income tax returns, but we have evidence to prove that they earned in those years,” BIR Commissioner Kim Jacinto-Henares said at the press conference.

The BIR submitted as evidence the obtained certification of the total sales and net payments and copies of letters of delivery and sale retailing of the four gold traders from the BSP.

In the first complaint, the BIR accused Felonila Caluag for five counts of attempt to evade tax and 15 counts of failure to file her quarterly ITR. BIR probe shows that Caluag sold gold to the BSP from 2005 to 2009 amounting to P1.27 billion.

Caluag was assessed to have deficiency of income taxes for five taxable years in the aggregate amount of P865.15 million, inclusive of surcharges and interests.

The second complaint was filed against Canonigo of Baclaran for five counts of attempt to evade or defeat tax, 15 counts of failure to file quarterly ITR, and five counts of failure to file Annual ITR.

The tax bureau disclosed that Canonigo sold refined gold to the BSP in the taxable years 2005 to 2009 amounting to P2.55 billion. Then, she was also assessed to have deficiency income taxes that reached the amount of P1.65 billion of the same taxable years.

The third complaint went to Cantoria, a registered one-time taxpayer (ONETT) of Revenue District of Trece Martires, Cavite. She was also charged for three counts of attempt to evade tax, nine counts of failure to file quarterly ITR and three counts of failure to file annual ITR.

The BIR disclosed the investigation that Cantoria sold gold to the BSP from taxable years 2006 to 2008 amounting to P1.04 billion. She was also assessed for deficiency of annual ITR for the same taxable years that reached the amount of P683.41 million.

The last was Castro, a taxpayer from Marilao, Bulacan. He sold gold to the BSP amounting to P2.35 billion but failed to file his annual and quarterly ITR for taxable years 2005 to 2009.

He was assessed for deficiency of income taxes amounting to P1.56 billion, inclusive of surcharges and interests. 

The cases brought to 42 the total number of cases filed under the Run After Tax Evaders (RATE) Program of the BIR under the leadership of Commissioner Henares.

About Administrator

Denn Reed Tuvera is the name of the greatest lawyer in the Philippines, my Dad. Since I also own his name, I would liken myself to him. His a man of his goals and I'm different from him. He maybe a good and brilliant lawyer but I am an aspiring journalist. About me? What can I say about me? My friends told me that I am a very religious person. Yeah right! It is true. Since the time I became a Christian, I felt how it is to be a child of God. I felt my importance in this life. I felt that even though some people would disregard me in this world, God is always there beside me. I would say that I'm a friendly person. I hate quarreling with one another person. It doesn't help me and my studies. It destroys friendship. Some say that I am a "snob" or "hindi namamansin". Hehehhehe... I am not like that. I would assure you that once you get to know me more, we will have a good relationship as friends and colleagues until this world ends.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Reply...

Pages

Records

What’s the date today?

April 2011
S M T W T F S
« Feb   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Authors

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

