//
you're reading...
Literature

SC sought DOJ to revise the rules of court

The Supreme Court (SC) and the Department of Justice (DOJ) have come up yesterday with a proposal to revise the rules of court to resolve the problems of case congestion.

In a press conference, Justice Secretary Leila de Lima said she had a closed-door meeting with Justice Roberto Abad, chair of the SC sub-committee, where they agreed to a proposal “to combine the adversarial and inquisitorial system” in the criminal justice procedures.”

The Adversarial system of the Americans is premised on the existence of the Jurist system which the Philippines don’t have.

“In adopting the adversarial system, we have also forgotten to adopt the jurist system,” she added.

In the Jurist system, the judge is just an arbiter to make sure that only admittable and competent evidence are being presented. The judgment will be handed over to the jurors, composed of ordinary men and women of the country.

The proposal was after the submission of evidences and after the judge has went over them, there will be two hearings: the preliminary hearing, where the parties will agree on factual issues; and adjudication hearing, where the judge will directly ask questions to the parties.

“But the lawyers will also be given the chance to ask questions. But the judge will be able to control the proceedings and would be able to get answers directly from the witness,” she explained.

The SC, for its part, sought the help of the DOJ to elevate the standard of the rules of court from probable cause to prima facie.

“Probable cause is just a low standard,” De Lima said.

Prima Facie refers to a lawsuit or criminal prosecution in which the evidence before trial is sufficient to prove the case unless there is substantial contradictory evidence presented at trial (dictionary.law.com).

“According to the Supreme Justice Roberto Abad, ‘if the standard will be restored to prima facie or even higher, it will achieve the increase of the conviction rate,’” de Lima said.

There will also be a reorientation of judges, prosecutors and investigators. This will also require the Philippine National Police and the National Bureau of Investigation to properly complete the evidences during the preliminary investigation stage.

The meeting was attended by Justice Secretary De Lima, accompanied by Senior Deputy State Pros. Richard Fadullion and Senior Asst. State Pros. Aileen Gutierrez, SC Justice Abad, Atty. Jose Midas Marquez and others.

About Administrator

Denn Reed Tuvera is the name of the greatest lawyer in the Philippines, my Dad. Since I also own his name, I would liken myself to him. His a man of his goals and I'm different from him. He maybe a good and brilliant lawyer but I am an aspiring journalist. About me? What can I say about me? My friends told me that I am a very religious person. Yeah right! It is true. Since the time I became a Christian, I felt how it is to be a child of God. I felt my importance in this life. I felt that even though some people would disregard me in this world, God is always there beside me. I would say that I'm a friendly person. I hate quarreling with one another person. It doesn't help me and my studies. It destroys friendship. Some say that I am a "snob" or "hindi namamansin". Hehehhehe... I am not like that. I would assure you that once you get to know me more, we will have a good relationship as friends and colleagues until this world ends.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Reply...

Pages

Records

What’s the date today?

May 2011
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Authors

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

